Halliday replaces Jensen as New Zealand bat against unchanged South Africa


South Africa are second within the factors desk whereas New Zealand sit on the fourth spot

Toss New Zealand selected to bat vs South Africa

Sophie Devine selected to bat on the identical floor New Zealand beat India on earlier within the match, in Mignon du Preez‘s one hundred and fiftieth ODI for South Africa. New Zealand have two wins from 4 within the competitors thus far however Devine steered away from calling the match a must-win. South Africa are undefeated after three matches within the match and in second place on the factors desk.
Regardless of their profitable run thus far, South Africa are but to attain greater than 240 within the match, however think about their batting to be enhancing because the competitors progresses. “In each match, we have scored 10 runs extra,” captain Sune Luus stated. All eyes will probably be on du Preez, who enters her milestone match on a lean run. She has not crossed 20 in seven ODIs this 12 months and has scored simply 26 runs on the World Cup thus far, and South Africa will look to her expertise within the chase.
Earlier than they get there, their unchanged XI will subject on what seems deck at Seddon Park. Shabnim Ismail was handed match after struggling a toe damage in Monday’s match against England and South Africa caught to their four-seam, two-spin assault. New Zealand made one change to the crew that misplaced to Australia and introduced in Brooke Halliday for Hayley Jensen, with a view to lengthening their line-up barely.
Anticipate runs aplenty on a floor that has delivered thus far. Although Bangladesh defended 234 in opposition to Pakistan in the latest match performed at this floor, scores have sometimes been excessive right here. Australia and India each placed on first innings scores over 300.

South Africa beat New Zealand in an ODI collection to qualify for the World Cup and have received the final three conferences between these two sides however New Zealand have the general benefit. They’ve received 11 of the 16 accomplished matches the groups have performed in opposition to one another, courting again to February 1999.

New Zealand 1 Suzie Bates, 2 Sophie Devine (capt), 3 Amelia Kerr, 4 Amy Satthertwaite, 5 Maddy Inexperienced, 6 Frances Mackay, 7 Katey Martin (wk), 8 Brooke Halliday, 9 Hannah Rowe, 10 Lea Tahuhu, 11 Jess Kerr

South Africa 1 Laura Wolvaardt, 2 Lizelle Lee, 3 Tazmin Brits, 4 Sune Luus (capt), 5 Mignon du Preez, 6 Marizanne Kapp, 7 Chloe Tryon, 8 Trisha Chetty (wk), 9 Shabnim Ismail, 10 Masabata Klaas, 11 Ayabonga Khaka

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

Leave a Comment