ICC retains Nitin Menon in Elite Panel, set for maiden neutral umpire appearance in Sri Lanka | Cricket News – Times of India

RAJKOT: India’s Nitin Menon has retained his place within the ICC Elite Panel and is ready to make his maiden look as a impartial umpire in Sri Lanka later this month.
A BCCI official informed PTI that Menon has bought a one-year extension from the Worldwide Cricket Council.
The 38-year-old from Indore stays the one Indian within the 11-member Elite Panel of Umpires.
“The ICC just lately gave a one-year extension to Menon who has been our main umpire during the last three to 4 years. Additionally, you will see him making his debut as a impartial umpire later this month,” the official informed PTI.
Menon was promoted to the Elite Panel initially of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, changing into the third Indian to enter the membership after S Venkataraghavan and S Ravi.
Nonetheless, Menon was restricted to officiating worldwide matches solely inside India with the ICC permitting native umpires because of the journey restrictions in place.
With COVID-19 on the wane, the governing physique has resumed regular service with Australian Paul Reiffel at present performing duties in England’s dwelling sequence towards New Zealand.
After finishing his duties within the ongoing five-match T20 sequence between India and South Africa, Menon is ready to journey to Sri Lanka for the house workforce’s two-Check sequence towards Australia, starting June 29 in Galle.
There isn’t a change within the Elite Panel and moreover Menon, it consists of Aleem Dar from Pakistan, Chris Gaffaney from New Zealand, Kumara Dharmasena from Sri Lanka, Marais Erasmus from South Africa, Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth and Richard Kettleborough (all three from England), Paul Reiffel and Rod Tucker from Australia and Joel Wilson from the West Indies.
The BCCI takes the decision on who to incorporate within the ICC Worldwide Panel of Umpires. At the moment, 4 Indians are within the decrease tier together with Anil Chaudhary, Virender Sharma, J Madanagopal and Ok N Ananthapadmanabhan.

Leave a Comment