IPL 2022, GT vs RR: Debutants Gujarat Titans hold edge against Rajasthan Royals in Qualifier 1 | Cricket News – Times of India

KOLKATA: Outfitted with a deadly bowling assault and boasting a lot of high quality finishers, debutants Gujarat Titans will begin as favourites towards spin-heavy former champions Rajasthan Royals when the 2 groups face-off within the first IPL Qualifier, right here on Tuesday.
Captaining a workforce within the IPL for the primary time ever, a fit-again Hardik Pandya has been a revelation this season as he led from the entrance with each bat and ball to make sure a prime end for his workforce within the league stage.
Aside from firing at quantity 4, Pandya has used his assets nicely, be it the demise bowling of wily Rashid Khan or making his batting exploits depend to go alongside the fiery duo of David Miller and Rahul Tewatia. Each little factor has fallen in place.

Their weak hyperlink was their top-order batting with highly-rated Shubman Gill failing to transform his begins however the addition of veteran Wriddhiman Saha has completed wonders for the workforce.
The discarded India wicketkeeper-batter is batting with a new-found ardour on the prime of the order and has scored three half-centuries in 9 matches to make up for Gill’s lacklustre run.
Whereas the Afghan leg-spinner has been excellent within the center and demise overs, India senior pacer Mohammed Shami has given them excellent begins, by being the very best wicket-taker (11 wickets) within the powerplay this season.

Saha, who has been making headlines since he was axed for Staff India, will look to make some extent as he together with Bengal teammate Shami play in entrance of their dwelling crowd once more.
The truth that the playoffs will likely be performed on contemporary tracks would put the seamers in focus and Pandya could look to herald Alzarri Joseph to go alongside Lockie Ferguson and Shami.
The Titans had defeated the identical opponents by 37 runs within the league stage however the inaugural version champions have a spin-heavy assault to go together with wealthy expertise and so they may show to a difficult buyer.
The Titans even have seemed susceptible as they suffered three defeats in final 5 matches, together with an eight-wicket thrashing by Royal Challengers Bangalore of their earlier outing, which might imply that the Pandya-led facet has to step up.

Three of Titan’s 4 defeats, and 4 of Royals’ 5 losses have come whereas organising a goal because the toss would even be a key space of concern.
The Sanju Samson-led outfit boast of each the Orange and Purple Cap holders this season — Jos Buttler and Yuzvendra Chahal.
In addition they have the expertise of Ravichandran Ashwin whose versatility has come to the fore particularly within the second-half of the season. Ashwin’s batting has additionally made an enormous distinction.
Batting at quantity 5 forward of their common batters Shimron Hetmyer and Riyan Parag towards Chennai Tremendous Kings the opposite day, Ashwin smashed an unbeaten 23-ball 40 to script a five-wicket win that additionally sealed their top-two end.
However for them to repeat their 2008-IPL profitable present, the Royals wouldn’t simply want an Ashwin however the top-order to fireplace.
Their main run-getter Buttler has slowed down within the enterprise finish of the season with single digit scores — 2, 2, 7 — in his last-three outings.

The Englishman, who has slammed three centuries and three fifties this season, is but to attain a half-century in 5 innings and the Royals would desperately want him to be again amongst runs.
Their batting too has slumped with Samson and Hetmyer’s lack of kind and they’d look to get into the act forward of the large match.
The truth that the loser of the Qualifier One will get a second shot at making the ultimate will give each the groups some respiratory area.
Gujarat Titans: Hardik Pandya (c), Abhinav Manohar, David Miller, Gurkeerat Singh, B Sai Sudharsan, Shubman Gill, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Matthew Wade, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Wriddhiman Saha, Alzarri Joseph, Darshan Nalkande, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Shami, Noor Ahmad, Pradeep Sangwan, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Varun Aaron, Yash Dayal
Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (c), Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Riyan Parag, KC Cariappa, Navdeep Saini, Obed McCoy, Anunay Singh, Kuldeep Sen, Karun Nair, Dhruv Jurel, Tejas Baroka, Kuldip Yadav, Shubham Garhwal, James Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rassie van der Dussen, Daryl Mitchell, Corbin Bosch

Leave a Comment