Sri Lanka opt to bat; Shakib returns for Bangladesh

Toss Sri Lanka selected to bat vs Bangladesh

Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne determined to bat first after profitable the toss towards Bangladesh within the first Check in Chattogram. He stated that he took the choice primarily based on the usually good batting circumstances of the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, and desirous to make finest use of the deteriorating pitch later within the sport.

From their final Check in Bangalore, the guests introduced in Asitha Fernando to switch the retired Suranga Lakmal. Dinesh Chandimal and Oshada Fernando additionally returned, however there was no place for left-arm spinner Pravin Jayawickrama, who troubled Bangladesh within the 2021 Check sequence.

The house facet went for a five-man bowling assault primarily as a result of Shakib Al Hasan had returned to the Check facet after a niche of 4 matches. Yasir Ali misplaced his place. A much bigger shock was the exclusion of Ebadat Hossain, who took the match-winning six-for towards New Zealand in January. Shoriful Islam, the left-arm fast, returned after lacking the South Africa Exams.

The 2 groups and match officers noticed a minute’s silence in reminiscence of Andrew Symonds, who died in Queensland on Sunday, following a automobile accident.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Mahmudul Hasan Pleasure, 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Mominul Haque (capt), 5 Mushfiqur Rahim, 6 Litton Das (wk), 7 Shakib Al Hasan, 8 Nayeem Hasan, 9 Taijul Islam, 10 Shoriful Islam, 11 Khaled Ahmed

Sri Lanka: 1 Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), 2 Oshada Fernando, 3 Kusal Mendis, 4 Angelo Mathews, 5 Dhananjaya de Silva, 6 Dinesh Chandimal, 7 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 8 Ramesh Mendis, 9 Lasith Embuldeniya, 10 Asitha Fernando, 11 Vishwa Fernando

Leave a Comment